Monday, April 18, 2011

Naruto: Mangekyo Sharingan Techniques

Madara and Izuna after awakening their Mangekyō Sharingan.

        As most Naruto fans already know, the Mangekyo Sharingan is the second stage of the Sharingan. Mangekyo Sharingan translates to Kaleidoscope Copy Wheel Eyes. After unlocking this advanced Sharingan, three new abilities are unlocked as well as a fourth forbidden one.

       The techniques or jutsu are Tsukuyomi, Amaterasu, Susanoo, and the forbidden jutsu Izanagi. Tsukuyomi is the genjutsu that allows the user to cast an illusion onto his/her opponent. Amaterasu creates black flames that can not be extinguished unless the user decides to. Susanoo creates a giant ethereal skeleton the protects the user and can also be used for offence. Izanagi is a forbidden jutsu or kinjutsu if you will simply because it costs the user one of his/her Sharingan. Izangi creates an illusion onto the user thus breaking the boundaries between illusion and reality.

     Believe it or not, all these jutsu are named after Japanese Deities or Shinto Gods. The story goes that Izanai's wife/sister had died and he goes to Yomi (the underworld) in order to rescue her. After failing to retrieve her he then cleanses his face. From washing his left eye, Amaterasu Goddess of the sun is born. By washing his right eye, Tsukuyomi Goddess of the moon is born. And by washing his nose, Susanoo God of the storm is born.

     Alot of Naruto techniques are named after Shinto Gods and have references to their original myths. For more info on Izanagi.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...